Don’t go on the looks of it!

image

     This is a very blemish picture of the Malabar whistling thrush.  It’s out of focus for a reason.  It was taken when I was in coorg,  a hill station in Karnataka.  I was staying in resort which was situated quite deep in the forest.  Every early morning or whenever I was in my flat,  I could always here a sweet whistling tune coming from the deep forest.  It seemed to be coming from the area which was fenced to prevent the entry of unwanted creatures in the resort.  But the whistle… Damn. It was so mesmerising and sweet,  gosh! I tried spotting the source of this melodious tune but I was unsuccessful.  On the last day of my stay,  me and my brother decided to take a walk throughout the resort. And I was clicking pictures of any bird which I came across.  This bird was one of them.  I had no idea this would be the bird who would be having such sweet voice. Hence,  I took the picture in a second and didn’t bother much.
       When I was coming back to my home land by an airplane,  I was looking through the book about the birds of coorg which I bought from a tourist shop there.  And I came across this name- Malabar Whistling Thrush.  And I paused and saw the picture of the bird in the book which was the same.  And I was pretty surprised.  Call me a person who judges everything on outward appearances,  but trust me I am not that person who does. But this incident just made me realise my mindset.  I usually don’t expect only good looking people/things/birds to have nice qualities (don’t judge me, I’m a good person) or at least I thought I don’t. 
         But this bird opened my eyes. Though it doesn’t look that appealing to my eye doesn’t mean it won’t be appealing in other ways.  So,  from then onwards I stopped judging anything by its outward appearances,  and this time,  seriously. 

One thought on “Don’t go on the looks of it!

Leave a Reply

